After being given a 4 shot penalty on the 12th hole of the final round of the ANA Inspiration from a ball marking infraction on the previous day, Lexi battled hard to get back to the top and force a playoff with So Yeon Ryu.

Lexi wasn’t victorious after Ryu held her birdie putt to take the leap into Poppies Pond.

We’ve rounded up how golfers, sportsmen and non golfers have reacted to the ruling…

Alex Perry


Alex is a Devonian who enjoys wittering on about his south west roots, Alex moved north to join NCG after more than a decade in London, the last five of which were with ESPN. Away from golf, Alex follows Torquay United and spends too much time playing his PlayStation or his guitar and not enough time practising his short game.

Handicap: 14

Subscribe to NCG